Our reviews

Rated 4.6/5 based on reviews from all travellers.
"Excellent business hotel. Close to parking areas and train stations."
4.6
Excellent
TrustYou

Good to know

Great reception
Friendly service
Professional service
Good management


Excellent Business HotelTop 1% in city Excellent Luxury HotelTop 1% in city

Location
95/100
248 reviews
"Great location" Excellent parking and car access.Train station is close.

Service
94/100
1163 reviews
"Fantastic service" Well-managed with a nice reception and professional service, particularly at the bar.Smooth booking process.Recreation staff is nice.Room service is average.

Breakfast
88/100
366 reviews
"Tasty breakfast"

Room
85/100
942 reviews
"Great room" Old rooms with average bathrooms.Substandard furniture, A/C, TV's and kitchenettes.Shower was ok.

WiFi
62/100
25 reviews
"Regular internet service"

Wellness
19/100
21 reviews
"Wellness & sports facilities could be improved"

verified-reviews
5/5Everything fine
Reviewed on 20th February 2020
2 night stay. Nice room, helpful staff, food was ok especially the breakfast buffet was excellent. I enjoyed and recommend.

5/5
Reviewed on 19th February 2020
I was particularly impressed with the events manger - Sarah Devereaux, in our meeting and subsequent dealings with her leading up to the event. The event itself went without a hitch and I was kept up to date throughout the event as to how the bar bill was doing, and also towards the end when the event was winding down. I do not know her name, but the lady in charge on the day was very friendly and pleasant to deal with. The food was good and plentiful and there was a lovely ambience in the room which had recently been re furbished. They provided AV equipment that we had requested and set it up for us, so it was already in action on our arrival. Overall a very pleasant experience and would recommend The Bull to other people and certainly use the hotel for any future events if we needed to.

4/5Excellent in almost every way
Reviewed on 19th February 2020
No hesitation in recommending and returning. Great food, ambience, service and accommodation. If one is being picky, the bathroom looked a little dated and in practical terms suffered from a basin that was very slow to empty, and the height of the bath made it tricky getting in and out. The dark wood style of the bedrooms etc might seem a little old fashioned but was compensated by a high standard of decoration and quality soft furnishing. Our only problem was a billing error that took some while to resolve. We have stayed at the Sarova Rembrandt, and would be happy to stay at others in the group. Cosy log fires. Not a huge range of drinks. Little apology for having to settle for a third choice! Either very good or excellént A good standard, if you don't need leisure facilities. Not much to do nearby ( in foul weather !) Large and comfortable. Almost all very good and friendly. ? Trouble with poor reception in room. Amazon tablets wouldn't connect anywhere, although other Android phones and tablets would.

5/5Mr Nigel M.
Reviewed on 18th February 2020
Very clean and tidy,staff could not do enough to help,overall fantastic stay. Very helpful especialy Alex Easy to find even though I live in Gloucestershire. Very clean and comfortable Excellent

5/5Excellent As Usual
Reviewed on 18th February 2020
A very relaxing stay at The Bull again on their Valentine's Day deal. The roof was very comfortable and clean and we were well looked after by Aeina. We ate in the restaurant where the food and service were spot on whilst the breakfasts were what you would expect but well presented and replenished even when busy. As noted before the staff were all very pleasant and helpful. In short will will return! Still a quiet hotel despite the wedding party. Helpful and friendly Bar meals/snacks were good. Restaurant choice was also fine. Long wall to reception! I'm getting old! Easy to log on

5/5Marcus G.
Reviewed on 18th February 2020
We stayed from Saturday 16th to Monday 18th February and we both loved the hotel as soon as we stepped inside. It has a lot of charm, was clean, tidy, the room was spacious, the garden was beautiful, and the staff were friendly. We especially loved the open fire! And the free mini bar was such a treat - thank you so much!

5/5Perfect from booking to checkout
Reviewed on 17th February 2020
A very relaxing stay at a hotel of quality, great room with special valentines touches that made a couple of 70+ guests smile all weekend the set meal on Friday evening was very good quality with relaxed service, one small thought would have been the addition of some live music rather than background recorded just to add a little more atmosphere (this is not a moan) A big thank you to all of the staff at the Bull very relaxed Good service and very polite Good quailty, relaxed service A excellent Hotel for a warm welcome and a relaxong stay excellent easy links to motorways and rail link to London Perfect looks to have had a recent upgrade, high quality fixtures & fittings a bed that you could sleep on in any directions so big you had to send a search party to find your partner, luxuary bathroom with walk in shower , prefer a bath myself but not an issue on a short stay always polite and with a smile very relaxing worked

5/5Valentines dinner . Room and breakfast
Reviewed on 16th February 2020
Everything was very good. Meal excellent , staff excellent room and breakfast excellent

5/5An amazing Valentine's
Reviewed on 16th February 2020
We had booked a valentine meal and an over night stay. The room was lovely and had been decorated with towel swans and rose petals on the bed. It was a lovely surprise and bought back memories of our wedding at the hotel. We were married at The Bull and we find the hotel comfortable and welcoming. I am gluten free and on arrival at the restaurant they knew and said there were gluten free meals on their menu for me to choose from. The bread roll was one of the best I have eaten. There wasn't a gluten free desert which was very disappointing as the rest of the menu had a gluten free choice. I love dessert and look forward to having something sweet at the end of a meal and was surprised not to be catered for in this instance. But overall from arrival to departure the staff were fantastic and the whole experience second to none. Thank you for a lovely stay The room was perfect, it was opposite our wedding night room which made it extra special and a nice touch

5/5
Reviewed on 14th February 2020
We've used The Bull on several different occasions and always the customer service is excellent - from being greeted at reception to the team making sure that the timings of the day, refreshments etc are all spot on

3/5A bit of a labyrinth
Reviewed on 13th February 2020
Nice location and courteous staff - lovely display and plenty of choices for breakfast but I cannot say the same with bar menu - not enough selection and found the food rather overcooked. Boiler very noisy at night, was told it would be turned off at night but no such luck - we were in room 225 Strange mural decor and carpet - too low chair in the bar/conservatory Bar staff pleasant, efficient and Guiness well served see above

Read more reviews

LATEST OFFERS

Special Day Delegate Rate

From £39 per delegate
More...

Mother’s Day at The Bull

£34.95 per person
More...

Free beauty stylist for your 2020 wedding

Free for Weddings in 2020
More...